Sub-regions: Bringing 'local' closer to home

Frequently Asked Questions

What is a sub-region? Map showing the North Simcoe County and Muskoka geographies

Sub-regions are localized geographies within the NSM LHIN that have been in place informally since the LHIN's inception in 2005. They assist the LHIN when planning health services for a specific area and help the LHIN better understand and address patient needs at the local level. By looking at care patterns through a smaller lens, LHIN staff are able to better identify and respond to community needs, ensuring patients across North Simcoe Muskoka are able to access the care they need, when and where they need it.

LHIN boundaries and sub-region boundaries are for planning purposes only.  They do not restrict how residents of North Simcoe Muskoka make their health care decisions.

Why are sub-regions needed?

Sub-regions allow LHINs to better plan, integrate, and improve the performance of local health services. They also help the LHIN to identify and understand the diverse population needs – be they cultural, linguistic, or other – helping our health care system better respond to these needs. 

Why were sub-regions created?

By viewing health care planning at a sub-regional level, sub-regions provide a local lens that helps the NSM LHIN better address patients' needs at the local level.

A greater local focus will ensure that patients can access the health services they need closer to home. Sub-regions were established based on existing care patterns in order to achieve this more local approach. Meeting the distinct health care needs of a community, and providing focused care to patients within that community, requires a tailored approach.

How were sub-regions identified? 

The sub-regions were identified based on patient referral patterns and consultation with local health service providers. The NSM sub-regions align with the LHIN's five Community Health Links, implemented as a means of ensuring NSM residents with high care needs receive their care they need through coordinated care plans. 

Where are the North Simcoe Muskoka LHIN sub-regions?

The five sub-regions in North Simcoe Muskoka LHIN are:

  • Barrie and Area
  • Couchiching (Orillia and Area)
  • Muskoka
  • North Simcoe (Midland, Penetanguishene and Area)
  • South Georgian Bay (Collingwood, Wasaga Beach and Area)